Workshops

In our workshops we aim to convey realistic and differentiated images of the cultures, languages and histories of Africa. We wish to expand the knowledge children, young adults, and adults have about Africa, and to increase in this way the appreciation for different cultures and environments. Dealing with Africa can help reducing subliminal fears of the ‘Other’, inspiring curiosity, and discovering the value of cultural plurality and diversity.

Chiala Afrika Festival

School workshop “Afrika Quiz”

Chiala is currently working on a project intending to provide students who are between 14 and 19 years old with an understanding of the history and diversity of the African continent.

Africa is characterized by the coexistence of modern life in the large African cities and the traditions of many different cultures. The Africa Quiz intends to convey Africa’s colourful plurality in a creative and playful way.

Target group: students


Drumming workshop – “African Percussions”

In our drumming course we will teach the basic rhythms and playing techniques. Our main aim is to teach you to use the instrument creatively, to convey the joy of collective drumming and to strengthen the confidence in your creativity. (We provide the Djembes.)

Target group: Students, young adults, adults


Preparing African food together

After a brief introduction into the basics of African cooking and the presentation of various typical ingredients and spices, the workshop leader will guide the participants in the preparation of a typical African dish. This will be accompanied by tropical fruits (seasonal) and self-made African teas. In addition, participants will be provided with recipes and helpful web links which will take them into the world of African specialities and encourage them to cook them at home.

Target group: Students, young adults, adults


City tour “African Graz”

This guided tour through the “African” Graz invites to discover the daily African life as it can be found in Graz. Participants will be made familiar with the circumstances and reasons that have made and still make Africans immigrate to Austria, and will get insights into their life in Graz. At the various stops of the tour (‘Square of human rights”, African shops and restaurants, projects and institutions that support African migrants, etc.) we will talk about the history, customs and culture of African migrants, as well as about the problems that these people have to struggle with in Graz.

Target group: Students, young adults, adults


Workshop “Anti-Racism”

This workshop deals with the history and the circumstances of the people on the African continent, as well as with the lives of Africans who have migrated to Austria. It will focus on the relationship between African realities and European/Austrian perceptions of Africa. It will provide insights into the African pasts and presents. This info-workshop intends to heighten the participants’ abilities for critical analysis, and to inspire interest in Africa and its people, cultures and arts. It will provide room for discussions concerning the topics of migration, integration, racism, and topics requested by the students.

Target group: Students, young adults, adults


Workshop “Diversity”

Our society is characterized by sociocultural diversity both in appearance and organisation. Comprehensive diversity competence on the basis of the legal order is therefore an educational objective for all people living in our society – regardless of gender, religion, age, ethnic-cultural categories, migratory background, etc. Considering this, we wish to provide a forum to allow for meeting and discussion in order to enable for reflexive conversation among people from various cultural and religious backgrounds. Topics will include circumstances of flight and migration, social issues, discrimination, everyday life, and basic human rights.

Target group: Students, young adults, adults


Right to be – Young refugees tell about their homeland and their present life in Graz

Why does a young person leave their home, family and friends to move to a foreign country? What do young refugees experience upon their arrival and what does their life in ‘foreign’ Austria look like? This workshop will deal with these questions and the question of what it means not to know the language and rules of a country, while being confronted with a legal process which decides if one is allowed to remain in Austria as a refugee. Young people from Africa will tell about their experiences in Austria, as well as about their culture and their homelands.

Target group: Students, young adults, adults


Our speakers:

The speakers and workshop leaders were born in Africa, have been living in Austria for many years and have many years of experience working with children and young adults.

Workshop registration:

Costs, dates and place of the workshop can be individually adapted to your requirements.

Contact us at: office [at] chiala.at

Workshops

In unseren Workshops vermitteln wir realistische und zugleich differenzierte Bilder der Kulturen, Sprachen und der Geschichte Afrikas.  Unser Anliegen ist es, das Wissen über Afrika bei Kindern, Jugendlichen als auch bei Erwachsenen zu erweitern und auf dieser Basis das Verständnis für andere Kulturen und Lebenswelten zu verstärken. Die Auseinandersetzung mit Afrika kann helfen, unterschwellige Ängste vor dem „Fremden“ abzubauen, Neugierde zu wecken und den Wert kultureller Vielfalt und Diversität zu entdecken.

Workshops
Graz, Augarten

Schulworkshop "Afrika Quiz"

Der Verein Chiala arbeitet gerade an einem Projekt, das SchülerInnen zwischen 14 und 19 Jahren die Geschichte und Vielfältigkeit des afrikanischen Kontinents näher bringen soll.

Das moderne Leben in den afrikanischen Großstädten und die Traditionen vieler unterschiedlicher Kulturen bestehen in Afrika gleichzeitig und nebeneinander. Mit dem Afrika Quiz soll auf kreative und spielerische Weise diese bunte Vielfalt Afrikas vermittelt werden.

Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen


Trommelworkshop – „African Percussions“

Bei unserem Trommelkurs sollen Grundlagen von Rhythmen und Spieltechniken vermittelt werden. Die Fähigkeit zum kreativen Umgang mit dem Instrument, die Freude am gemeinsamen Trommeln und die Stärkung des Vertrauens in die eigene Kreativität stehen im Vordergrund.(Djemben werden von uns bereitgestellt.)

Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen, Jugendliche, Erwachsene


Gemeinsam afrikanisch kochen

Nach einer kurzen Einleitung über die afrikanische Esskultur, diverse typische Zutaten und Gewürze werden die SchülerInnen zusammen mit der Referentin ein gemeinsames typisch afrikanisches Mahl zubereiten. Abgerundet werden die Speisen mit tropischen Früchten (saisonabhängig) und selbst zubereiteten afrikanischen Tees. Rezepte zum Nachkochen und gute Links sollen die TeilnehmerInnen in die Welt der afrikanischen Spezialitäten entführen und zum Nachkochen und Ausprobieren anregen.

Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen, Jugendliche, Erwachsene


Stadtrundgang " Afrikanisches Graz"

Diese Führung durch das „afrikanische“ Graz ist ein Projekt, das nun schon seit einigen Jahren existiert. Der Rundgang lädt zu einer Entdeckungsreise des afrikanischen Alltagslebens in Graz ein. Die Umstände, welche die AfrikanerInnen bewegten, nach Österreich zu emigrieren, sowie Einblicke in ihr jetziges Leben in Graz werden den interessierten SpaziergängerInnen näher gebracht. An verschiedenen Stationen (Platz der Menschenrechte, afrikanische Geschäfte und Restaurants, Projekte und Institutionen, die MigrantInnen aus Afrika unterstützen … ) wird über die Geschichte, Bräuche und Kultur afrikanischer MigrantInnen, aber auch über die Probleme mit denen diese Menschen in Graz zu kämpfen haben, gesprochen.

Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen, Jugendliche, Erwachsene


Infoworkshop "Antirassismus"

Dieser Workshop behandelt sowohl die Geschichte und die Lebenssituation der Menschen am afrikanischen Kontinent, als auch das Leben, der nach Österreich immigrierten AfrikanerInnen. Im Vordergrund steht das Verhältnis zwischen afrikanischen Realitäten und europäisch-österreichischer Wahrnehmung von Afrika. Es wird sowohl ein Einblick in die Vergangenheit des Kontinents gegeben, als auch in die afrikanische Gegenwart. Mit diesem Info-Workshop wollen wir die Fähigkeit der TeilnehmerInnen zur kritischen Analyse stärken und das Interesse für Afrika und seine Menschen, Kulturen und Künste wecken. Diskussionen zu den Themen Migration, Integration, Rassismus etc. werden angeregt und besondere Themenwünsche berücksichtigt

Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen, Jugendliche, Erwachsene


Infoworkshop "Diversity"

Soziokulturelle Vielfalt prägt das Erscheinungsbild wie auch die Organisationsform unserer Gesellschaft. Im Sinne eines „global village“ rücken die Menschen näher zusammen, weshalb umfassende Diversity Kompetenz auf der Grundlage der geltenden Rechtsordnung ein Bildungsziel für alle in unserer Gesellschaft lebenden Menschen ist – ungeachtet von Geschlecht, Religion, Alter, ethnisch – kultureller Kategorien, Migrationshintergrund usw.

Unter diesem Aspekt soll ein Begegnungs-und Diskussionsforum angeboten werden, um mit Menschen aus anderen Kulturen, Religionen usw. ins reflexive Gespräch zu kommen. Dabei geht es um Themen wie Flucht-und Migrationsbedingungen, soziale Fragen, Diskriminierung, Alltagsleben, Grund-und Menschenrechte konkret u.v.m.

Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen, Jugendliche, Erwachsene


Right to be – Junge Flüchtlinge berichten von ihrer Heimat und ihrem jetzigen Leben in Graz

Was bring einen jungen Menschen dazu, seine Heimat, Familie und Freunde zu verlassen und in ein fremdes Land zu gehen? Welche Erfahrungen machen junge Flüchtlinge bei ihrer Ankunft und wie gestaltet sich ihr Leben im „fremden“ Österreich? Was es heißt, die Sprache und Regeln eines Landes nicht zu kennen und mit einem Verfahren konfrontiert zu sein, das darüber entscheidet, ob man als Flüchtling in Österreich bleiben darf oder nicht, wird Thema dieses Workshops sein. Junge Menschen aus Afrika werden von ihren Erfahrungen in Österreich berichten, andererseits aber auch von ihrer Kultur und ihren Heimatländern.

Zielgruppe: SchülerInnen, Jugendliche, Erwachsene


Unsere ReferentInnen:

Die ReferentInnen und WorkshopleiterInnen wurden in Afrika geboren, leben seit vielen Jahren in Österreich und verfügen über mehrjährige Erfahrungen im Umgang mit Kindern und Jugendlichen.

Workshop-Anmeldung:

Kosten, Abhaltungstermine und Abhaltungsort der Workshops werden je nach Absprache individuell an Ihre Anforderungen angepasst.

Anmeldung unter: office [at] chiala.at